StockFetcher Forums · General Discussion · Junk Mail<< >>Post Follow-up
SFMc01
358 posts
msg #152501
Ignore SFMc01
6/6/2020 10:29:34 AM

I receive between 50 and 75 "junk mail" emails daily. I usually open many of them and go thru the unsubscribe routine, but, that takes a lot of time. That's every day.

I think I exacerbate the problem because I have a desire to learn and I open many of these unsolicited emails that have interesting title lines. Extremely few pan out to have something in which I would have a continuing interest. Even though I take the time to go thru the process of "unsubscribe' it doesn't seem to help because I suspect this vendor is giving my email address to others. I believe that if I just delete them, I'll continue to receive them in the future.

Has anyone come up with a solution, even partial?

Thanks, Steve

Cheese
1,374 posts
msg #152506
Ignore Cheese
modified
6/6/2020 1:21:23 PM

@Steve,

I am not an expert at this, but here is a good, friendly place to start:

https://www.wikihow.com/Block-Junk-Mail

The author shows you in a friendly way how to
Block Junk Mail on Gmail
Block Junk Mail on Yahoo
Block Junk Mail on Outlook

Hope this helps

SFMc01
358 posts
msg #152538
Ignore SFMc01
6/7/2020 11:41:19 AM

Thank you Cheese. I'll look at it.

I guess this may just be a penalty of day trading and being on my computer most of the day.

Cheese
1,374 posts
msg #152540
Ignore Cheese
modified
6/7/2020 12:01:37 PM

@Steve,

I actually gave a lot of thoughts to try to help you because many of us are in the same boat.
At the end, I gave up trying because I know little, and I know little about your particular
circumstances. But I would like to pass on some suggestions from members on other forums.

1. Ruthlessly delete any emails that we don't recognize, that we suspect as spam, phishing,
or malware. Ruthlessly unsubscribe. Ruthlessly block out an entire country domain.