StockFetcher Forums · Filter Exchange · A Better Exit Strategy Is Needed For Swing Systems<< 1 2 >>Post Follow-up
Dylan
43 posts
msg #156675
Ignore Dylan
4/23/2021 11:57:22 AM

Here is a system I've been trading successfully for the past 2 yrs. Let me know if you're interested. Perhaps we can share.

nibor100
1,010 posts
msg #156679
Ignore nibor100
4/24/2021 4:59:28 PM

The chart posted from TradingView about this profitable system for the past 2 years seems to have a few oddities:

1. No buy or sell arrows on the daily 9 month chart shown.
2. Max Drawdown of $0, to my knowledge this would be the first system ever with no drawdowns, especially considering the average trade duration is 52 bars/days
3. The statistics shown can't possibly be for the last 2 years as 47 completed trades with an average duration of 52 days takes way longer than 2 years unless many of them are simultaneous trades...

Ed S.

Dylan
43 posts
msg #156683
Ignore Dylan
4/25/2021 2:35:45 PM

Ed,

1) The buy/sell arrows & indicators can be enabled or disabled. I've now enabled them for you on the chart.

2) Tradingview does not calculate drawdown on systems that are 100% profitable. I've tweaked the parameters to show 97.67% profitable instead of 100% to show you the system drawdown.

3) I've been trading this system for 2 years but the backtest you see goes back to 6/2013. The reason why the drawdown is good is because it averages in a second entry. 2 max open positions.

thx

nibor100
1,010 posts
msg #156687
Ignore nibor100
4/26/2021 1:12:32 PM

@Dylan,

Thanks for the detailed reply,

I've only done a couple of backtests with Trading View and did not realize that the Buy and Sell arrows could be toggled off.

Nor did I know about the 100% profitable restriction on the calc of Max Drawdowns for backtests ( seems odd though)

Ed S.

nibor100
1,010 posts
msg #156692
Ignore nibor100
4/27/2021 2:21:24 PM