StockFetcher Forums · Filter Exchange · help to beginner.<< >>Post Follow-up
2 posts
msg #32104
Ignore 400396
5/17/2004 12:29:45 PM

hello all,

i'm new to the stockfetcher and now i'm learning alone technical analysis , i will like to ask the experienced guys , can you tell me what filter gives you the best results so far?

thanks.

avi.

TheRumpledOne
6,407 posts
msg #32105
Ignore TheRumpledOne
5/17/2004 4:09:42 PM

NONE...

It's not what you trade but how you trade it.

I have seen people lose money on stocks that went up on the same day.

MAY ALL YOUR FILLS BE COMPLETE.

xplorer
257 posts
msg #32111
Ignore xplorer
5/18/2004 7:16:30 AM

Since 99% of stocks have price movement ... 99% can make you money.

Every parameter of a screen has value ... and will help to guide you to find stocks that fit YOUR interest. They all work, and designed to do a specific thing. Personally I like Slow Stochastics to help me with an entry or exit.

Slope of Linear regression line to find momemntum plays ... etc ...etc ...

So I guess to answer your question...you need to ask ... what are YOU looking for? A good way may to reverse engineer a chart ...or a trait of a stock that peeks your interest.

Fare Well !

TheRumpledOne
6,407 posts
msg #32122
Ignore TheRumpledOne
5/18/2004 4:14:01 PM

I was once new and asked for help so here is a money maker:

Fetcher[set{p1,high - open} set{p2, close - low} rsi(2) below 1 and close above 1.00 and Average Volume(10) is above 300000 and volume above 500000 and add column p1 and add column p2]

Feel free to change the dollar/volume to suit your trading style.

P1 and P2 are the profits that you could have captured that day. Had you entered low and sold high.

Remember this or any other filter will not make you money. Do NOT confuse stock SELECTION with STOCK trading.

2 posts
msg #32125
Ignore 400396
5/19/2004 6:17:38 AM